WHO GLL Webinar: Resilient Health Services, 30 May 2019

10 May, 2019

Resilient Health Services

Global Learning Laboratory Webinar

Overview:

The 2014-2016 West Africa Ebola virus disease outbreak demonstrated the central importance of having resilient health systems, to prevent, detect and respond to disruptive public health events and carry on providing routine and emergency essential health services. Quality health services are pivotal during emergencies and serve as the interface between communities and the health system. For health systems to be resilient, they require quality health services that are delivered prior to, maintained during, and improved upon following an emergency. Health systems and health security are co-dependent. However, integrating health systems and health security functions presents numerous challenges.

An active programme of work to support countries with health system and health security integration is being taken forward by the Quality Systems and Resilience unit within WHO. This 90-minute session will explore this ongoing work. Country case studies on strengthening health services and systems with a special focus on preparedness for health emergencies, and in acute and protracted emergencies, will be presented.

Learning Objectives:

1. Articulate the need for integrating health systems and health security functions.

2. Understand WHO’s approach to health services and health systems resilience.

3. Explore ongoing country support and lessons learned in this area.

4. Allow participants to explore the concept of resilient health services through an interactive panel discussion.

Intended audience:

This webinar is aimed at the wide range of stakeholders interested in the convergence of health emergencies, health systems strengthening and quality improvement. These would include, but not be limited to, policy-makers, development and humanitarian partners, technical agencies, academic institutions, bilateral development agencies and nongovernmental organizations.

Date: Thursday 30 May 2019, 15:00 CEST (Geneva time).

Time:

Cairo, Egypt 15:00 EET

Geneva, Switzerland 15:00 CEST

Lagos, Nigeria 14:00 WAT

London, United Kingdom 14:00 BST

New Delhi, India 18:30 IST

Tokyo, Japan 22:00 JST

Washington DC, USA 09:00 EDT

( (https://who.us15.list-manage.com/track/click?u=540192c501e50b6f7f2ffe21d...) click here for other time zones (https://who.us15.list-manage.com/track/click?u=540192c501e50b6f7f2ffe21d...) ) (https://who.us15.list-manage.com/track/click?u=540192c501e50b6f7f2ffe21d...)

Register (https://who.us15.list-manage.com/track/click?u=540192c501e50b6f7f2ffe21d...)

https://who.us15.list-manage.com/track/click?u=540192c501e50b6f7f2ffe21d...

Our mailing address is:

GLL4QUHC@who.int