Coronavirus (1248) Contemporary Face of Epidemics & Pandemics: Dealing with the Infodemic

29 April, 2021

Webinar this Sunday. Register here:

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/dealing-with-the-infodemic-lecture-registra...

--

Contemporary Face of Epidemics & Pandemics: Dealing with the Infodemic

Dr. Sylvie Briand

Director

Global Infectious Hazard Preparedness (GIH), WHO

Sunday, 02 May 2021

06:30 PM IST | 02:00 PM BST | 09:00 AM EDT | 03:00 PM CET

The Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic has advanced globally since the beginning of 2020, exacting an enormous toll on individuals, communities and economies. Its scale demands the development of innovative solutions. While all past epidemics have been accompanied by infodemics, which the World Health Organization defined as a proliferation of information—some accurate, some not—that spreads alongside a disease outbreak, the extent of the infodemic accompanying the COVID-19 pandemic is unprecedented.

This talk asks questions about this information pandemic. What causes an infodemic? What are the challenges posed by the infodemic? Can it be eliminated? Can it be managed? How can we leverage new technologies to manage the infodemic?

About the Expert

Dr. Sylvie Briand (MD, MPH, PhD) is the director of the Global Infectious Hazard Preparedness (GIH), at the World Health Organization (WHO/WHE), in Geneva.The Department of Global Infectious Hazard Preparedness (GIH) advances global efforts to prevent and control existing and emerging infectious diseases by increasing access to evidence-based interventions; fostering impactful innovation; and leveraging technical, operational and strategic partnerships.

Since 2001, Dr. Briand has been actively involved in the detection, preparedness and response to global threats, leading the scientific and strategic component of the WHO response (COVID 19, avian and pandemic influenza, Ebola, Zika, Plague, yellow fever, cholera, MERS). Before joining WHO, Dr Briand worked as public health project director for different global health agencies in various geographic regions (South America, Africa)

CONTAGION'S PUBLIC LECTURE SERIES:

As a part of our public programming, we will invite experts and early-career researchers from various disciplines such as epidemiology, infectious diseases research, and history, among others. They will talk about cutting-edge research, historical responses to contagion, and pressing issues in today's world, to give the audience insights into how contagion is studied, mapped, and understood in a host of ways.

Know more about CONTAGION here. https://bengaluru.sciencegallery.com/contagion

--

Neil Pakenham-Walsh, HIFA Coordinator, neil@hifa.org www.hifa.org