Coronavirus (557) Webinar: The COVID pandemic and the World Health Organisation: need for reflection and global solidarity

5 May, 2020

From the People's Health Movement:

--

From Richa Chintan richa@phmovement.org

To phm-exchange@phm.phmovement.org

Subject PHM-Exch> Webinar by PHM and TNI (India)

Over the years, international organisations such as the WHO, have been systematically weakened. With the neoliberal paradigm spreading its tentacles far and wide, the independence and integrity of WHO as a global health authority has been seriously compromised with. This deliberate weakening has been further exposed with the latest attack on WHO by the Trump administration in the form of halting the crucial funding to deal with the global pandemic COVID-19.

In order to discuss the implications of ongoing neoliberal onslaught on democratic institutions, People's Health Movement and Tricontinental Research Institute (India) invite you to a Webinar on:

"The COVID pandemic and the World Health Organisation: need for reflection and global solidarity"

Date- May 8

Time- 20:30 IST/ 17:00 CET/ 11:00 Eastern Time

Speakers:

Mirza Alas- Global Health Analyst

Andrew Harmer- Queen Mary University of London

Mary T Bassett- Harvard School of Public Health

Chair: Hani Serang (PHM)

Register here to attend https://t.co/eOEYQfFtMZ https://t.co/MdcM6JgITs

Interpretation available in French, Spanish, English and Hindi

--

Best wishes, Neil

Let's build a future where people are no longer dying for lack of healthcare information - Join HIFA: www.hifa.org

HIFA profile: Neil Pakenham-Walsh is coordinator of the HIFA global health campaign (Healthcare Information For All - www.hifa.org ), a global community with 20,000 members in 180 countries, interacting on six global forums in four languages in collaboration with WHO. Twitter: @hifa_org FB: facebook.com/HIFAdotORG neil@hifa.org