WHO EPI-WIN Webinar: Communicating risks and evidence in a public health emergency

8 September, 2021

Forwarded from EPI-WIN (with thanks to Richard Fitton). Register here: https://who-e.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_3jFrECruTg6aNEe6nnQ5MA

--

Communicating risks and evidence in a public health emergency

WHO EPI-WIN Webinar - Science Communication

Tuesday 14 September 2021

14.00-15.00 Geneva, 17.30-18.30 Delhi, 08.00-9.00 New York

Helping people understand the potential benefits and harms to their health from different actions and treatments they might take, and the evidence behind it, is a difficult task. During a public health emergency it becomes even harder. The Winton Centre in the UK and the Harding Center in Germany are two sister centres that work on how best to communicate these sorts of risks - from helping someone understand their risk from COVID-19 to communicating the potential benefits and harms of a vaccine. In this webinar the two centres will present some of the empirical work that they have done, testing different kinds of communication on these topics, and there will be a chance to discuss the implications for practice and areas that need further research.

Speakers:

Dr Alexandra Freeman, Winton Centre for Risk & Evidence Communication, University of Cambridge, UK

Dr John Kerr, Winton Centre for Risk & Evidence Communication, University of Cambridge, UK

Dr Gabriel Recchia, Winton Centre for Risk & Evidence Communication, University of Cambridge, UK

Ms Christin Ellermann, Harding Center for Risk Literacy, University of Potsdam, Germany

Q&A

Participants will be able to submit questions during the webinar by using Zoom's "Q&A" feature. You may also submit them in advance by sending them to epi-win@who.int

--

Neil Pakenham-Walsh, HIFA Coordinator, neil@hifa.org www.hifa.org