Webinar: Addressing the SRH needs of adolescents and young people living with HIV March 19th 09:30 Washington/ 13:30 London/ 14:30 Geneva / 15:30 Harare

18 March, 2019

Dear Colleagues,

Please join us on March 19th, 2019 from 09:30 to 10:30 Washington / 13:30 to 14:30 London /14:30 to 15:30 Geneva / 15:30 to 16:30 Harare for a webinar on addressing the SRH needs of adolescents and young people living with HIV in the 2019 SRHR and HIV Linkages webinar series.

Adolescents and young people living with HIV have particular sexual and reproductive health (SRH) and HIV needs which are often not met when there is a vertical disease focused approach to healthcare delivery, rather than an integrated people-centered approach. Establishing strong links between Ministries of Health and CSOs has shown that these needs can be better met. Members of the READY+ program – led by Frontline AIDS (formerly known as the International HIV/AIDS Alliance) – will be sharing specifically what has led to tangible changes at the service facility levels to bring about more integrated service delivery to meet the SRH and HIV needs of adolescents and young people in Southern Africa. Sharing best practices such as these is incredibly important and the Implementing Best Practices (IBP) Consortium will present on how they engage the global SRH community to implement and scale up effective practices and global guidelines.

Register for the webinar today. We look forward to your participation!

https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/191154891467115021

Presenters:

Manjulaa Narasimhan

Manjulaa Narasimhan coordinates WHO's work on strengthening linkages between sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) and HIV interventions – at advocacy, policy, programmatic and research levels. This includes the development of WHO global guidance and tools on the SRHR for women living with HIV as well as the SRHR of adolescent girls and young women at risk of HIV. She co-convenes the interagency working group on SRHR/HIV linkages.

Cecilia Kihara

Cecilia is passionate about inclusivity, particularly of girls and young women as critical players in development. She has worked on SRHR programs targeting adolescents and young people in sub-Saharan Africa for over 15 years. She is currently the Technical Lead on the FrontLine AIDS’ work with and for adolescents and young people in their diversity, READY. READY is a growing movement of youth led and youth serving organizations working with and for adolescents and young people to ensure that they are able to make informed decisions pertaining to their health. She holds an MSc in Public Health from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Maximina Jokonya

Maximina has over eight years’ experience in the world of HIV/AIDS. She works for Africaid. She supports the Community Adolescent Treatment Supporters (CATS) in delivering differentiated care for Children, Adolescents and Young People living with HIV (CAYLHIV), including HIV information sharing and counselling, Adherence, Disclosure and SRHR. Maximina draws her experience from being born with HIV. This has inspired her passion for working with adolescents and young women who are infected and affected by HIV, and encourages the adoption of interventions that eliminate stigma and discrimination. She holds a diploma in HIV/AIDS Counselling Care and Support and currently pursuing Degree in Psychology with Africa University.

Ados May

Ados is a Senior Technical Advisor for the IBP Consortium. In that role, Ados provides technical leadership to the IBP Secretariat. In addition, Ados engages and mobilizes the consortium members on a variety of issues such as documenting effective practices in family planning, dissemination and mapping of high-impact practices (HIPs), and knowledge management. He has 20 years of experience in international public health program design, technical assistance and management.