WHO GLL webinar: Improving health care quality in low- and middle-income countries: results of a systematic review

28 November, 2018

Improving health care quality in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs): results of a systematic review

Overview:

2018 has seen an unprecedented call to action on quality in healthcare, with the publication of three global reports on healthcare quality. All highlight the costs of poor quality healthcare in both human and economic terms and recognize the central role of healthcare workers in achieving high-quality care. The Health Care Provider Performance Review (HCPPR) is a systematic review of the effectiveness and cost of strategies to improve the performance of health workers across a range of settings in low-and-middle income countries, including hospital- and clinic-based health workers, community health workers, pharmacists, and drug vendors. The review includes published and unpublished studies with strategies to improve health worker performance for any health condition. The HCPPR has more than 700 studies on more than 200 improvement strategies in a wide range of settings, including both the public and private sector, making it one of the largest systematic reviews on LMIC health systems.

Read more https://www.hcpperformancereview.org/

Learning Objectives:

The 60 minute session will allow participants to:

Examine the Health Care Provider Performance Review;

Explore linkages between health care provider performance and quality of care;

Highlight country case studies emerging from the review;

Allow participants to ask questions and share their experiences.

Intended audience:

Policy-makers, development partners, technical agencies.

Date:

Thursday, 6 December, 15:00 CET

Time: Geneva, Switzerland 15:00 CET

Washington DC, USA 09:00 EST

Tokyo, Japan 23:00 JST

London, United Kingdom 14:00 GMT

New Delhi, India 19:30 IST

Lagos, Nigeria 15:00 WAT

Cairo, Egypt 16:00 EET

Register https://who-meeting.webex.com/mw3300/mywebex/default.do

Our mailing address is:

GLL4QUHC@who.int